Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms that provide an enriching experience to users. Almost all the individuals from all the different countries are on Facebook. Despite being such a popular platform, you might not know everything about the same. 

Here in this post, we will be talking about how to unfriend on Facebook. If you have mistakenly accepted the friend request of someone and wish to unfriend then, this post will be of great help to you.

The post will be highlighting the steps that you need to follow to unfriend someone on Facebook. It will also be shedding some light on other common questions that you might have as a fresher on this platform. So, continue reading the post further for a better understanding of how Facebook works and the process to unfriend someone on Facebook.

Is blocking and unfriending mean the same on Facebook?

how to unfriend on Facebook

Before proceeding to understand how to unfriend on Facebook, let’s understand the difference between blocking and unfriending someone. To block or unfriend someone is not one or the same thing. If you think they are the same then, you need to keep reading this section. There is a thin line of difference between these two options and hence we have enlisted the difference between these two here for your reference.

When you block someone on Facebook, it means that they will not be able to view your profile or are notified of the actions that you take on your account. They will not be able to send you any kind of message or rather in short will not be able to connect with you through any means. If you want to make your FB profile more engaging, then you can buy Facebook likes

However, when you unfriend someone, this will mean that the individual will not be able to message you until you accept their friend request. In the former case, the individual will not be able to send the friend request to the person concerned.

In the latter case, they will at least be able to send a friend request and when the individual accepts the request they will further be able to view their profile. Now that you have understood the difference between blocking and unfriending someone let’s try and understand the entire process of unfriending people. Let us now move on to the next section to learn how to unfriend on Facebook.

How do you unfriend on Facebook?

As you have gained clarity over the difference between blocking and unfriending people on Facebook, let us understand the entire process through which you can unfriend Facebook users through your account, the process is completely simple and easy to understand. So, let us take a quick look at the steps that you need to follow. All steps have been laid down below for your reference and clarity.

how to unfriend on Facebook

  • Before everything else, you need to open your Facebook account. Put in the right credentials to log in to your account on Facebook.
  • After you have logged in through your account with your user name and password you will then, be required to look for the person you wish to unfriend.
  • For this, you need to type in the username of the person you would want to unfriend on Facebook to your account.
  • Type the username in the search box that you see towards the top right-hand side corner of your screen.
  • After you type in the user name, the account of the person you are looking for will be displayed along with other individuals with the same username.
  • You need to tap on the account of the person you would want to unfriend to proceed further.
  • The next step is to tap on the three-dot option that you see on your screen after you visit the profile of the person.
  • After you tap on this three-dot button, you will get various options including unfollowing, block, unfriend and others.
  • Tap on the unfriend option to finally unfriend the person on Facebook through your account.
  • Now tap on the confirm option to confirm your action.

Facebook allows individuals to unfriend other users. However, do remember that when you unfriend a person you might have to send the friend request to be friends again. Hopefully, have now understood how to unfriend on Facebook. This was in all that you need to know in regards to the unfriendly people on Facebook.

Is the individual notified when you unfriend them?

In case you unfriend an individual due to whatever your reasons are, Facebook will not notify them regarding the same. This is one of the best parts of the platform as it allows you to control your account based on your preference and requirement. You can unfriend, as well as block any person on Facebook. There is no limitation regarding the number of people you can connect with or the number of people you can unfriend.

Facebook is an outstanding platform offering impressive features. Hence, it as well allows individuals to control their accounts based on their preferences. Always remember that you can unfriend a person anytime you want but at the same time if you want to connect to them again, you will have to send a friend request. You will be able to connect with them only when they accept your friend request again. However, they will know that you have to unfriend them only when they visit your profile and not otherwise.

Max & Team

Max and his team write tutorials & guides about everything that has to do with social media. TikTok, Instagram, YouTube and co: In the blog of Adfluencer, our influencer marketing agency, you can find super many helpful articles 🙂