Deleting an Instagram account

Having over a billion active users today, Instagram is on its way to becoming the number one social networking platform globally. This application is exceptionally crucial for users as well as brands as it is a way to gain profit and popularity.

Having said that, at some point, you may want to cut off from the online world, and who knows, even permanently. You will come across many people deleting their presence from the social media community just so they could live without the online influence.

Whether you want to keep a low profile for some time or completely disappear from the social media world, we have got your back.

In this write-up, we will talk about what is needed in regards to deleting your Instagram account permanently. But before that, let us cover how to save your data before the account deletion.

Saving your Instagram Account Data

Prior to removing your account permanently, you can save your posted content and other data to your PC. If you do not download, Instagram will permanently remove everything and leave nothing behind.

Therefore, in order to save your data, adhere to the steps below:

Step 1: Run the Instagram application.

Step 2: Click the profile option located on your screen’s bottom right.

Step 3: Click the three lines present on the top of your screen and then choose ‘Settings.’

Step 4: Tap on the ‘Security’ option and select ‘Download Data.’

Step 5: Type in your email and select the ‘Request Download’ option.

Once done, Instagram will send you all your data via email to your email address within 2 days. It will contain your pictures, account information, comments, among other data you may require later.

Keep in mind that once you remove your Instagram permanently, there is no going back. You will lose all your data and information completely.

How to Delete an Account on Instagram

deleting instagram

Now before we move on to the steps, here is a thing you first need to be aware of. It is not possible to delete your account from your Instagram mobile application. You can only do so by getting access to your account from your computer or using a mobile browser.

With that said, below are the steps:

Step 1: Run the platform on your PC or mobile browser.

Step 2: Once you log in, go to the ‘Delete Your Account’ page.

Step 3: Choose the reason you are deleting your account on Instagram.

Step 4: Enter your password again.

Step 5: Select the ‘Permanently Delete My Account’ button, and that is it!

It is as simple as that!

It is important you know that Instagram will not be able to reactivate your account once deleted. Therefore, you must be absolutely sure about what you are planning to do before actually taking the step.

Because deleting means getting rid of all the content you posted diligently. Especially if you are a social media influencer, we advise you to think twice before you delete your account.

How Long Does Instagram Take to Delete Account?

If you adhere to the steps we have put together for you, it is to be expected that Instagram will delete your account immediately. It is unlike platforms like Facebook that first deactivate your account for about 2 weeks prior to lining it up for deleting.

You are not provided the same protection when getting rid of your Instagram. Therefore, be sure you have made the right decision after you have decided.

There is no certainty as to when Instagram deletes inactive or spam accounts. The application cleans the platform time and again. So, no one, with the exception of Instagram, can be sure when and how it takes place.

Is There a Way to Retrieve your Account Back After Deleting?

The answer is no. There is no official way of getting your Instagram account back once you delete it permanently. However, many users talk about a run-around option that helps recover your deleted account.

In case you are in the same situation, then you can give this alternative way a try. For that, the first step will be to report to Instagram that your account has been hacked. The next steps are as follows:

Step 1: Enter your username, phone number or email, and select ‘Get help signing in.’

Step 2: Next, tap on ‘Trouble Logging In.’

Step 3: After choosing the account type you wish to retrieve, select the ‘My account was hacked’ option to continue.

Step 4: Once done, choose the ‘Hear more about your experience’ option.

Step 5: Fill up the provided forms. Once you do that, you will receive an email in some hours. Instagram will ask you to provide proofs for verifying, like the pictures you posted to your ‘hacked’ account, verification code, username, etc.

If you decide against deleting your account, that is totally up to you. Remember that many influencers depend on this prominent platform for social media marketing. You can do too!

With that said, if you want more shoutouts on your Instagram account, do visit our website.