Twitter is quite a confusing social media platform for several users. So, if you have a Twitter account that you don’t use anymore, deleting it is your only choice. So, how do I delete my Twitter account? Well, people know about deactivating, but how do you delete the account permanently?

how do I delete my Twitter account

To be fair, the process isn’t as confusing or complicated, provided that you know what you are doing. Also, when you are deleting the Twitter account, you can delete it permanently. But, if you deactivate the Twitter account, it will stay there for 30 days before it gets deleted permanently.

This post will explain in detail everything you need to know about deleting your Twitter account.

Keep These in Mind Before You Delete Your Twitter Account

When you are considering deleting your Twitter account, ensure that you are doing it for the right reasons. Sometimes, most people have the silliest reasons for deleting their Twitter account and we don’t want the same for you. If you want to delete the account because you are not gaining any followers, you can buy Twitter followers instead of deleting your account.

So, let us summarize a few instances where you don’t have to delete the Twitter account.

  • You don’t have to delete your Twitter account if you want to change your username. You can easily do it without needing to wipe your account.
  • You should set up the new Twitter account with the existing username before you deactivate or delete your account.
  • You can request archived data from your Twitter account before you delete it or even consider deactivating your Twitter account.
  • You can mass delete your tweets from your account without needing to delete your entire account.

These are some of the common instances where you can fix the issue without needing to delete your Twitter account.

How to Delete Twitter Account?

Now that you have the basics sorted, let us focus on how do I delete my Twitter account. Deleting your Twitter account is not rocket science. That said, we’d recommend that you follow all the steps involved if you want everything to go smoothly for yourself.

The first step toward deleting your Twitter account is to deactivate it. When you deactivate your account, it intimates to Twitter that you are in the process of deleting your account. Based on that, Twitter will either automatically remove the account after 30 days or you’d have to do it manually.

To deactivate your Twitter account, here’s what you have to do:

  • Open your Twitter account on the app or via your web browser.
  • Once you are logged into your account, you’d need to navigate to Settings and then click on Privacy.
  • Under that, scroll down and then click on Deactivate your account.
  • You have to read the available information and then confirm that you want to deactivate.
  • To finalize the process, you’d then need to enter your password and then click on Confirm.

After you deactivate your Twitter account, you get a 30-days period where you can reactivate your account. If you don’t do it within 30 days, your account will be deleted permanently by Twitter.

how do I delete my Twitter account

Also, if you are considering using your username or email for a new Twitter account, you’d have to wait for the 30-days since they are tied to the existing account. So, that is a downside that you have to work through.

Will my tweets be visible once I deactivate my Twitter account?

Twitter saves a lot of your tweets and other details when you have a public account on their platform. So, once you deactivate your account, there are chances that some of the tweets might appear even after you deactivate.

So, there are chances that when you look up tweets in the search engines, they might pop up here and there. However, once the Twitter account has been deleted permanently, your tweets will be gone for good. How do I delete my Twitter account?

Can I change my username and move it to another account?

There are instances where users look into how do I delete my Twitter account because they want to start a new Twitter account, but with the same username. If that is the case with you, we’d recommend that you change the username of the existing account before you deactivate it.

Since the username and the email are still tied to the account even after you deactivate it, the best step would be to change the username of the current account and then immediately create a new Twitter account with the old username. You have to do it quickly, especially if you have a popular username that most users are looking for.

Can I save my data before deleting my Twitter account?

Before you delete your Twitter account permanently, there might be instances where you want to save some of the information for yourself.

Here’s what you can do to save some of the data:

  • Open your Twitter account and navigate to Settings
  • Under that, click on Privacy
  • Click on Data and Permissions under that and click on Confirm
  • You have to then click on Request Data and you will receive the desired data to your registered email ID. You can download the file and then view the relevant data from there. How do I delete my Twitter account?

We hope this answers your queries regarding how do I delete my Twitter account. The steps are easy and not as complicated as you imagine they would be. We’d always recommend that you delete the account for valid reasons and not for situations that can be avoided.

Max & Team

Max and his team write tutorials & guides about everything that has to do with social media. TikTok, Instagram, YouTube and co: In the blog of Adfluencer, our influencer marketing agency, you can find super many helpful articles 🙂