Mute is a program that allows you to suppress a site’s Tweets on your timeline without having to unfollow or ban them. Accounts that have been muted will not be aware that they have been muted, and then you can independently and self them anywhere at moment. Visit your muffled account choices on twitter.com or the mobile settings of Twitter for iPhone or Android to see What Happens When You Mute Someone On Twitter?

If you want to know much about what transpires when you muted someone on Twitter, this article will be of great assistance to you.

What are the muted options in Twitter? 

You can come across information in Tweets that you don’t want to see. You can choose to mute Tweets that include specific words, phrases, users, emojis, or hashtags. These Tweets will be removed from your Announcements tab, given, SMS, email messages, Home timeline, and replies to Tweets if you mute them.

  1. You can like muted accounts, and you can follow silenced accounts. You will not be unfollowed if you mute an account.
  2. Muting an account does not affect the capacity of that account to send you a Personal Message.
  3. Any muted account will no longer send you to push or SMS alerts.
  4. Events will not appear within your Search tab, “What’s Happening” sidebar, or emails, nor will they be included in Event-based notifications.

Features of muting accounts 

  1.  Muting is case agnostic.

 If you add “CATS” to your block list, any mentioning of “cats” in your notifications will be muted.

 When muting, you can use ellipses inside one word or phrase. It is not required to use punctuation after a word in a sentence. When you mute a word, you try to ignore both the word and its hashtag. Consider the following scenario:  If you mute “unicorn,” your alerts will be silenced for unicorn. You must also include @ sign just before the name to mute Tweet email alerts, Tweets there in the Home timeline, or replies to Twitter messages that mention a specific account. This will silence notifications for Tweets that reference that account, but not the account itself on What Happens When You Mute Someone On Twitter.

2. You can mute words, buzzwords, login information, emojis, and Twitter posts up to the maximum character count.

3.Muting is possible in any language supported by Twitter.

4. The default period for muting is Forever. For supported devices, information on how to alter the silent time duration is shown below.

5. In your settings, you can see a collection of your muted utterances (and unmute them).

6. Content that does include your muffled words and hashtags will not be suggested in recommendations sent to you via email or Twitter.

 

What Happens when you Mute someone on Twitter

What happens if you follow muted accounts?

  1. The muted account’s replies and mentions will remain in your Notices tab.
  2. Tweets from either a muted account will be pulled from your timeline if they were sent before the person was muted.
  3. When you hover or tap into a discussion, you’ll see replies from muted accounts.

What happens for the muted accounts that you don’t follow

  1.  Your Notifications tab will not show replies or mentions.
  2.  If you muted an account you don’t follow and subsequently start a conversation about you, you’ll only get notifications from people you do follow who react and reference you. If you’d like to see all of your replies, type your username into the search bar.
  3. Muted accounts’ replies will not be seen when you hover or swipe into a discussion.

 If a non-muted account Retweets with a comment from a muted account, the Retweet will be blocked with a The above Tweet is the inaccessible message for question, What Happens When You Mute Someone On Twitter?

How to manage muted accounts?

Go to your Muted system preferences on twitter.com or your app accounts on Tweet for iOS or Devices to see your complete list of muted accounts.

In the Twitter app for iOS:

  1. Select Settings and Privacy from your navigation menu icon.
  2. Then select Privacy and Security.
  3. Select Muted from the Safety menu.
  4. Then select Muted Accounts from the drop-down menu.
  5. By leveraging the mute icon, you can unmute accounts.
  6. Tap the profile photo to block or inform an account. You will be taken to the account’s profile page. Select Block or Remove from the menu by tapping the more symbol.

In the Twitter app for Android:

  1. Select Settings and Privacy from your navigation menu icon.
  2. Then select Privacy and Security.
  3. Select Muted accounts from the Safety menu.
  4. By accessing the mute icon, you can unmute accounts.
  5. Tap the display picture to block or document an account. You will be taken to the account’s profile page. Select Mute or Remove from the menu by tapping the more symbol.

What Happens when you Mute someone on Twitter

Through  twitter.com website:

    1. From the side dropdown menu, select More, then Settings and Privacy.
    2. Select Privacy and Safety from the drop-down menu, then Mute and Block.
    3. Select Muted Accounts from the drop-down menu.
    4. By simply clicking the muted button, you can unmute accounts.
    5. Click the cover photo to block or disclose an account. You will be taken to the account’s profile page. From here, select Disable or Report from the submenu by clicking the more symbol.

Takeaway

So, let’s get going with the explanations why someone mutes the account. And after you’ve learned everything there is to know about Twitter’s muting options, this article will undoubtedly assist you in knowing What Happens When You Mute Someone On Twitter? 

If you’re looking to buy some followers to your account you can buy from some good websites which are available in the web.

Max & Team

Max and his team write tutorials & guides about everything that has to do with social media. TikTok, Instagram, YouTube and co: In the blog of Adfluencer, our influencer marketing agency, you can find super many helpful articles 🙂